Spatial Description

The Mafube Local Municipality is located in the Fezile Dabi District Municipality. It is only a one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg (Gauteng Province, South Africa’s richest province) on the N3 route to Durban. The geographical area of the municipality is 4604.3810 square kilometers. Mafube is part of the Riemland region. The name Riemland comes from the fact that, when first settled, the area was home to huge herds of game and the locals earned a reputation for curing and making leather; a riem being a strip of leather. The four major towns that form part of the municipality are Frankfort (municipal head office), Villiers, Cornelia and Tweeling.