Welcome to Mafube Local Municipality

The Mafube Local Municipality is located in the Fezile Dabi District Municipality. Mafube, a Sotho name meaning, “where the sun rises”, is one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg on the N3 route to Durban. The geographical area of the municipality is 4604.3810 square kilometres. The four major towns that form part of the municipality are Frankfort (the municipal head office), Villiers, Cornelia, and Tweeling. The lowest estimated population figure for Mafube was 61 936 in 2008. The latest official figure was 57 650 in 2001. There was a considerable decline in the rural population of 10.3% per annum over the past five-year period. The highest annual population growth rate was in Villiers with an annual growth rate of 11%. Tweeling and Cornelia have also experienced relatively high levels of population growth. Read more...

  • Mayor Profile
  • Resources
  • Media
  • Tourism

Cllr. Elliot Sigasa, who was appointed the Mayor of Mafube Local Municipality in October 2012. He was born on 08 October 1970 at Ntswanatsatsi Cornelia in the Free State.

He undergone his primary education at Ntswanatsatsi Primary School until 1986 and went to Falesizwe Secondary School in Namahadi Frankfort from 1987 to 1990 where he obtained his matric. Read more...