

RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS HELD ON 28 MARCH 2012

29/03/2012

The Electoral Commission (IEC) said the African National Congress won 13 of the 14 municipal ward by-elections which took place on Wednesday, 28 March 2012. The remaining seat went to the Inkatha Freedom Party.

Voter turnout varied between 26.96% and 65.11% with an average of 40.96%.

By-elections took place in eight (8) wards in the Eastern Cape of which one was uncontested. All the wards were previously represented by the African National Congress and the party has retained the seats. The new councillors are:

- Lumka Patricia Mapete in Ward 4 in Emalahleni [Lady Frere] Municipality EC136
- Sarah Nosindabantu Mdlazi in Ward 13 in Elundini [Mount Fletcher] Municipality EC141;
- Xoliswa Jona in Ward 6 in Umzimvubu [Mount Ayliff] Municipality EC442. This ward was uncontested.
- Lonwabo Tsepo Somadlangathi in Ward 8 in Mbizana [Bizana] Municipality EC443;
- Sophlina Nozamile Ncekana in Ward 10 in Ntabankulu [Ntabankulu] Municipality EC444;
- Kolisile Eric Frans in Ward 15 in Nelson Mandela Bay [Port Elizabeth] Municipality NMA;
- Siyabulela Lennox Hodi in Ward 26 in Nelson Mandela Bay [Port Elizabeth] Municipality NMA; and
- Mtunzi John Madolo in Ward 55 in Nelson Mandela Bay [Port Elizabeth] Municipality NMA.

One by-election each took place in the Free State and Gauteng. Both wards were previously represented by the African National Congress and the party has retained the seats. The new councillors are are:

- Maria Matsatsi Mofokeng in Ward 6 in Mafube [Frankfort] Municipality FS205, Free State; and
- Michael Marumatsho Ndebele in Ward 8 in Midvaal [Meyerton] Municipality GT422, Gauteng.

Two by-elections took place in KwaZulu-Natal. The new councillors are:

- Sduduzo Khuzwayo of the African National Congress in Ward 56 in eThekwini [Durban Metro] Municipality – ETH. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress; and
- Leonard Mphasi Nxumalo of the Inkatha Freedom Party in Ward 12 in Nongoma [Nongoma] Municipality KZN265. The ward was previously represented by the Inkatha Freedom Party.

One by-election each took place in Limpopo and the Western Cape. Both wards were previously represented by the African National Congress and the party has retained the seats. The new councillors are:

- Motlatso Rufus Selepe in Ward 24 in Makhado [Louis Trichardt] Municipality LIM344, Limpopo; and
- Travor Glen Benjamin in Ward 12 in Saldanha Bay [West Coast Peninsula] Municipality WC014, Western Cape.



The detailed results for each ward are available on the IEC website on www.elections.org.za.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Centurion

29 March 2012